Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
Frequently Asked Questions
Share |

I want to become a CBA, what do I need to do?

Will it cost me anything to become a CBA?

Is the Pre-Apprentice training apart of my 3,200 hours of on the job training?

Do I need a social security number to apply to be a CBA?

I need identification but I don't drive. What do can I do?

Will I be working on paying clients as a CBA?

What if I decide to quit or take a leave of absence from the program?

What if my trainer gets sick or takes a leave of absence?


I want to become a CBA, what do I need to do?
The first thing you need to do is find an approved trainer/sponsor.

Will it cost me anything to become a CBA?
The Board requires a $50 certification fee to be paid for your CBA certification. The Pre-Apprentice program fees are $1200-$1500. This fee is non-refundable and is due before acceptance is permitted.

Is the Pre-Apprentice training apart of my 3,200 hours of on the job training?
No. The Pre-Apprentice training is in addition to your 3,200 clock hours. This training is given in a classroom environment and will cover Health and Safety laws of Jefferson County as well as other relevant topics that the program committee has included in the curriculum.

Do I need a social security number to apply to be a CBA?
Yes. The Board requires all applicants have either a valid social security number(SSN) or valid tax payer identification number (TIN).

I need identification but I don't drive. What do can I do?
All licensed individuals, including CBAs, must have current, valid government issued, photographic ID with them while they are working in an establishment. If you do not drive, you may receive Alabama ID from the DMV.

Will I be working on paying clients as a CBA?
Yes. However, all work that you perform on clients must be done under direct supervision of your trainer in the approved establishment listed on your license.

What if I decide to quit or take a leave of absence from the program?
If for some reason you leave the program before completing the required curriculum, your trainer must submit a verification of training letter to the Board. Your hours and training are retained for two years should you decide to return.

What if my trainer gets sick or takes a leave of absence?
If your trainer must take a day or two off due to illness, etc., you may not continue to work without your trainer present. If your trainer must take an extended leave of absence, it may become necessary for you to transfer to another trainer.

Contact Us

716 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd N, Birmingham, Alabama 35203 Suite 543
Phone: (205) 325-5393

Connect
Hours of Operation

Monday-Wednesday
8:00am - 2:00pm